IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )




> [STANDALONE] Cry of Fear (UPDATED)
Gman21463
post Mar 9 2012, 02:41 PM
Post #1


DZ4EVA
Group Icon
Group: Full Member
Posts: 1,382
Joined: 20-October 08
Member No.: 86,054
Country:





Estimated Minimum System Requirements:

1 GHz CPU
64 MB RAM
32MB Video Card with OpenGL support

Estimated Recommended System Requirements:

2 GHz CPU
512 MB RAM
128MB Video Card with OpenGL support




Download:
CODE
http://www.moddb.com/mods/cry-of-fear/downloads/cry-of-fear-version-10


How to install:

  1. Download and install Counter Strike 1.6 DiGiTALZONE v42 and the v42.1 patch from here.
  2. Open Cry of Fear installer and change the install location to where you installed Counter Strike 1.6 DiGiTALZONE v42
    (Make you install it to where the hl.exe is located so it installs properly!)

    DON'T USE THE LAUNCHER THAT IS CREATED IN THE DESKTOP UNLESS YOU WANT TO UPDATE THE GAME CAUSE IT WON\'T WORK, INSTEAD FOLLOW THE STEPS BELOW:

  3. Now inside the folder where hl.exe is located create a .bat file and name it Cry of Fear.bat and then edit it with notepad and copy and paste the following:
    CODE
    start hl.exe  -steam -game CryOfFear -gl -appid 70
  4. Open up Cry of Fear.bat to start the game and enjoy!
  5. Optional Step: You can right click on Cry of Fear.bat that you have created and copy it then paste shortcut to your desktop for quick game access.


If anyone has any problem with this game, update it to the latest version BEFORE posting your problem by following the step below:

To update the game open Cry of Fear launcher located in the desktop or inside "CryOfFear" folder (Usually C:\Program Files (x86)\Counter-Strike 1.6 V42 DiGiTALZONE\CryOfFear) and it's named "CoFLaunchApp.exe" and then click on update.

Also check out the FAQ from the developers below it might help:
CODE
http://www.cry-of-fear.com/forum/index.php?topic=401.0

If your problem isn't listed there or the suggested solution is not working then post your problem here, but please include the following information:

- Clear description of the nature of the problem.
- When and/or where you're encountering it.
- Your system specs. (including graphics driver information)
- How to recreate the issue.
- The steps you've tried to fix it.
- Relevant screenshot if possible.




 
+Quote Post   Go to the top of the page
4 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 19)
Xyphos
post Mar 9 2012, 02:55 PM
Post #2


Corporate
Group Icon
Group: Full Member
Posts: 424
Joined: 13-March 11
Member No.: 210,865
Country:



Awesome smile.gif seems cool gonna try it at a later time smile.gif




 
+Quote Post   Go to the top of the page
Dεm⊕ηsεye
post Mar 9 2012, 05:46 PM
Post #3


~Demon of the Netherworld~
Group Icon
Group: Media-MOD
Posts: 1,875
Joined: 15-June 10
Member No.: 180,336
Country:



Doesn't work, sadly... after installing, I create the file, run it and then it makes me 2 errors : "video rendering mode not supported, setting to software mode" and "error 108, steam service not running"

I just uninstalled steam, realizing my account had been hacked by some fucker, and now I downloaded 1.6gb for naught sad.gif




<------------------------Click Here!

But with moderation :D
-B3aR-/.:Demonseye:.\
100 posts : Done.
200 posts : Done.
300 posts : Done.
400 posts : Done.
500 posts : Done.
600 posts : Done.
Let's aim higher! 1000 posts : Done!
1500 posts : Done!
2000 posts : Not yet!
Becoming ELiTE : Heh, look at my title x)
Becoming MoD : Heh. :)
I am 40% addicted to Counterstrike. What about you?
 
+Quote Post   Go to the top of the page
スイッチ君
post Mar 9 2012, 05:52 PM
Post #4


゛b((((≧▽≦))))q ゛シェイク♪シェイク♪
Group Icon
Group: Full Member
Posts: 1,611
Joined: 28-October 10
Member No.: 197,895
Country:



This game is scary as hell. Models and textures are very well done in this mod. I couldn't finish it though, it was too scary for me.





Steam: Joji // Xfire: Joji // Xbox Live: Joji1200 // PSN: Jojih

Staff needed for Chihiro Subs! Please visit irc.rizon.net #chihiro-recruits for more info!!

 
+Quote Post   Go to the top of the page
JACKIƎ BEN ॐ
post Mar 9 2012, 06:29 PM
Post #5


There was a hole here...
Group Icon
Group: ELiTE
Posts: 2,632
Joined: 6-August 07
Member No.: 50,158
Country:



QUOTE (Dεm⊕ηsεye @ Mar 9 2012, 06:46 PM) *
Doesn't work, sadly... after installing, I create the file, run it and then it makes me 2 errors : "video rendering mode not supported, setting to software mode" and "error 108, steam service not running"

I just uninstalled steam, realizing my account had been hacked by some fucker, and now I downloaded 1.6gb for naught sad.gif


Be sure to use the -steam switch, for the render issue try -gl or -d3d

And about the hack issue, request ticket and contact steem support ;-D

Nice Tut Gman




[jackieben@digitalzone .]$

BucketHead
 
+Quote Post   Go to the top of the page
Dεm⊕ηsεye
post Mar 9 2012, 06:36 PM
Post #6


~Demon of the Netherworld~
Group Icon
Group: Media-MOD
Posts: 1,875
Joined: 15-June 10
Member No.: 180,336
Country:



QUOTE (JACKIƎ BEN @ Mar 9 2012, 07:29 PM) *
Be sure to use the -steam switch, for the render issue try -gl or -d3d

And about the hack issue, request ticket and contact steem support ;-D

Nice Tut Gman


Well I copy-pasted the line as-is in a text file and saved it as a .bat, but I'll try the -d3d mode, thanks Jackie smile.gif

Gonna do that for the hack issue, thanks for the tip




<------------------------Click Here!

But with moderation :D
-B3aR-/.:Demonseye:.\
100 posts : Done.
200 posts : Done.
300 posts : Done.
400 posts : Done.
500 posts : Done.
600 posts : Done.
Let's aim higher! 1000 posts : Done!
1500 posts : Done!
2000 posts : Not yet!
Becoming ELiTE : Heh, look at my title x)
Becoming MoD : Heh. :)
I am 40% addicted to Counterstrike. What about you?
 
+Quote Post   Go to the top of the page
r00K!!
post Mar 9 2012, 10:15 PM
Post #7


He who laughs last didn't get IT
Group Icon
Group: Full Member
Posts: 715
Joined: 17-November 08
Member No.: 89,906
Country:



does it work with the DZ V35??

This post has been edited by r00K!!: Mar 9 2012, 10:17 PM




QUOTE
There are only two rules for success:

1. Never tell everything you know.
2.




I am 54% addicted to Counterstrike. What about you?
 
+Quote Post   Go to the top of the page
Gman21463
post Mar 9 2012, 10:21 PM
Post #8


DZ4EVA
Group Icon
Group: Full Member
Posts: 1,382
Joined: 20-October 08
Member No.: 86,054
Country:



QUOTE (Dεm⊕ηsεye @ Mar 9 2012, 09:36 PM) *
Well I copy-pasted the line as-is in a text file and saved it as a .bat, but I'll try the -d3d mode, thanks Jackie smile.gif

Gonna do that for the hack issue, thanks for the tip


This game will ONLY work properly with opengl mode as I posted above, so I suggest running it with opengl.

If your graphics card does not support opengl then you're out of luck.

QUOTE (JACKIƎ BEN @ Mar 9 2012, 09:29 PM) *
Nice Tut Gman


Thanks.

QUOTE (r00K!! @ Mar 10 2012, 01:15 AM) *
does it work with the DZ V35??


I don't know really as I never tried it on v35 but I think it might work so give it a try and see what happens...

If it didn't work then try the latest version.

This post has been edited by Gman21463: Mar 9 2012, 10:26 PM




 
+Quote Post   Go to the top of the page
GrinningDemon
post Mar 9 2012, 11:47 PM
Post #9


Fighting for SÃňÍ╬Y
Group Icon
Group: DigitalZone CREW

Posts: 2,945
Joined: 21-October 06
Member No.: 25,395
Country:



Super cool, thanks for the share





----------><----------
 
+Quote Post   Go to the top of the page
Dεm⊕ηsεye
post Mar 10 2012, 10:05 AM
Post #10


~Demon of the Netherworld~
Group Icon
Group: Media-MOD
Posts: 1,875
Joined: 15-June 10
Member No.: 180,336
Country:



QUOTE (Gman21463 @ Mar 9 2012, 11:21 PM) *
This game will ONLY work properly with opengl mode as I posted above, so I suggest running it with opengl.

If your graphics card does not support opengl then you're out of luck.


Well it's weird since it's not an intel integrated thing... it's a Geforce 310M with 512MB of dedicated VRAM :/

Still gives me that steam issue when I'm launching it with opengl.




<------------------------Click Here!

But with moderation :D
-B3aR-/.:Demonseye:.\
100 posts : Done.
200 posts : Done.
300 posts : Done.
400 posts : Done.
500 posts : Done.
600 posts : Done.
Let's aim higher! 1000 posts : Done!
1500 posts : Done!
2000 posts : Not yet!
Becoming ELiTE : Heh, look at my title x)
Becoming MoD : Heh. :)
I am 40% addicted to Counterstrike. What about you?
 
+Quote Post   Go to the top of the page
Gman21463
post Mar 10 2012, 12:00 PM
Post #11


DZ4EVA
Group Icon
Group: Full Member
Posts: 1,382
Joined: 20-October 08
Member No.: 86,054
Country:



QUOTE (Dεm⊕ηsεye @ Mar 10 2012, 01:05 PM) *
Well it's weird since it's not an intel integrated thing...


It even works with intel integrated cards since they support opengl...




 
+Quote Post   Go to the top of the page
JACKIƎ BEN ॐ
post Mar 10 2012, 12:09 PM
Post #12


There was a hole here...
Group Icon
Group: ELiTE
Posts: 2,632
Joined: 6-August 07
Member No.: 50,158
Country:



Found sumthin 'bout it @ epcgaming forumz http://www.epcgaming.com/smf/support-693/e...#33;!!/

It's about stopping the steam service (run->[services.msc], find the steam service and right click-stop, but first if you are running steam kill it)




[jackieben@digitalzone .]$

BucketHead
 
+Quote Post   Go to the top of the page
Toxsika
post Mar 10 2012, 12:11 PM
Post #13


Beta
*
Group: Trial Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 10-March 12
Member No.: 226,685
Country:



i cant seem to update my launcher it finds the update for cry of fear but pops up with a download error am i doing something wrong? also when i click on launch it says an unhandled exception has occurred in your application helpppppppppp please @_@
 
+Quote Post   Go to the top of the page
Gman21463
post Mar 10 2012, 01:02 PM
Post #14


DZ4EVA
Group Icon
Group: Full Member
Posts: 1,382
Joined: 20-October 08
Member No.: 86,054
Country:



QUOTE (Toxsika @ Mar 10 2012, 03:11 PM) *
i cant seem to update my launcher it finds the update for cry of fear but pops up with a download error am i doing something wrong? also when i click on launch it says an unhandled exception has occurred in your application helpppppppppp please @_@


Delete patchversion.txt from your CoF folder and check for updates again.




 
+Quote Post   Go to the top of the page
halme
post Mar 10 2012, 01:32 PM
Post #15


Professional
Group Icon
Group: Full Member
Posts: 200
Joined: 18-July 08
Member No.: 75,145
Country:



Awsome game thanks!!! clap.gif














 
+Quote Post   Go to the top of the page
Dεm⊕ηsεye
post Mar 10 2012, 08:13 PM
Post #16


~Demon of the Netherworld~
Group Icon
Group: Media-MOD
Posts: 1,875
Joined: 15-June 10
Member No.: 180,336
Country:



QUOTE (Gman21463 @ Mar 10 2012, 01:00 PM) *
It even works with intel integrated cards since they support opengl...


Well anyway I think I found the problem, it's that I had TWO counter-strikes installed... one at C://CS and the other one at C://program files/CS

I installed CoF in the first one, and I even tried launching CS, it didn't work. In the other, everything works. Reinstalling that, and we'll see ^^

@Jackie I uninstalled Steam so it can't be the problem

Edit : Well it doesn't work, even after reinstalling, and the OpenGL doesn't work. Too bad :/
(still gives me the steam fucking error)




<------------------------Click Here!

But with moderation :D
-B3aR-/.:Demonseye:.\
100 posts : Done.
200 posts : Done.
300 posts : Done.
400 posts : Done.
500 posts : Done.
600 posts : Done.
Let's aim higher! 1000 posts : Done!
1500 posts : Done!
2000 posts : Not yet!
Becoming ELiTE : Heh, look at my title x)
Becoming MoD : Heh. :)
I am 40% addicted to Counterstrike. What about you?
 
+Quote Post   Go to the top of the page
Gman21463
post Mar 10 2012, 09:31 PM
Post #17


DZ4EVA
Group Icon
Group: Full Member
Posts: 1,382
Joined: 20-October 08
Member No.: 86,054
Country:



QUOTE (Dεm⊕ηsεye @ Mar 10 2012, 11:13 PM) *
Edit : Well it doesn't work, even after reinstalling, and the OpenGL doesn't work. Too bad :/
(still gives me the steam f****** error)


Weird, I have cracked steam installed and its working fine. mellow.gif

Try installing steam and keep it closed then try running it and see if it works.
If it didn't, then your only hope is to try running it with cracked steam.




 
+Quote Post   Go to the top of the page
Dεm⊕ηsεye
post Mar 11 2012, 09:34 AM
Post #18


~Demon of the Netherworld~
Group Icon
Group: Media-MOD
Posts: 1,875
Joined: 15-June 10
Member No.: 180,336
Country:



QUOTE (Gman21463 @ Mar 10 2012, 10:31 PM) *
Weird, I have cracked steam installed and its working fine. mellow.gif

Try installing steam and keep it closed then try running it and see if it works.
If it didn't, then your only hope is to try running it with cracked steam.


Cracked steam : pacsteam or such things?

Well it didn't work while I had Steam installed... gave me the exact same error :|




<------------------------Click Here!

But with moderation :D
-B3aR-/.:Demonseye:.\
100 posts : Done.
200 posts : Done.
300 posts : Done.
400 posts : Done.
500 posts : Done.
600 posts : Done.
Let's aim higher! 1000 posts : Done!
1500 posts : Done!
2000 posts : Not yet!
Becoming ELiTE : Heh, look at my title x)
Becoming MoD : Heh. :)
I am 40% addicted to Counterstrike. What about you?
 
+Quote Post   Go to the top of the page
JACKIƎ BEN ॐ
post Mar 11 2012, 11:16 AM
Post #19


There was a hole here...
Group Icon
Group: ELiTE
Posts: 2,632
Joined: 6-August 07
Member No.: 50,158
Country:



QUOTE (Dεm⊕ηsεye @ Mar 11 2012, 10:34 AM) *
Cracked steam : pacsteam or such things?

Well it didn't work while I had Steam installed... gave me the exact same error :|


More like GreenLuma nowadays

I'd still check that service, maybe it remained there for some reason causing problems




[jackieben@digitalzone .]$

BucketHead
 
+Quote Post   Go to the top of the page
Gman21463
post Mar 11 2012, 12:31 PM
Post #20


DZ4EVA
Group Icon
Group: Full Member
Posts: 1,382
Joined: 20-October 08
Member No.: 86,054
Country:



QUOTE (Dεm⊕ηsεye @ Mar 11 2012, 12:34 PM) *
Cracked steam : pacsteam or such things?

Yes, GreenLuma is the best out there right now, so download that one and download half-life.gcf from steam then install the mod to steam to see if it works with cracked steam...

It worked in both steam and non-steam for me, but I'm still too scared to continue with the mod right now. (The first part is terrifying unsure.gif )

QUOTE (Dεm⊕ηsεye @ Mar 11 2012, 12:34 PM) *
Well it didn't work while I had Steam installed... gave me the exact same error :|


Just wondering, did you install the patch for CS 1.6 DZ when installing cry of fear?




 
+Quote Post   Go to the top of the page

4 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th August 2014 - 11:03 AM